Are Pringles vegan? 5 ingredients analyzed (2023)

Pringles are famous for their smooth texture, unique shape and world-renowned taste.Crisis.

After going vegan, I found that many of my favorite chips and snacks weren't as vegan as I originally thought. So with that saidsind Pringles vegan?

It depends on the taste. The original taste and slightly salty taste of Pringles are vegan and contain no animal ingredients.

Most other Pringles flavors aren't vegan, however, as they contain animal ingredients like whey protein, buttermilk, cheese, and natural meat flavors.

Personally, I've always liked the original Pringles flavor better, so that's not really a problem for me. However, this news may come as a disappointment to vegans who grew up eating Pringles flavors like pizza, barbecue, honey mustard, and others.

Below, I'll break down the key ingredients in the original Pringles recipe and explain why they're vegan.

Then I show you a chart describing the vegan and non-vegan flavors of Pringles and show you some of the key non-vegan ingredients that are problematic. Are you ready to start your crisis?


(Video) 10 Foods You'll NEVER Buy Again After Knowing How They Are Made

Pringles Ingredients: Why Some Pringles Are Vegan

Are Pringles vegan? 5 ingredients analyzed (1)

Pringles first came out in 1967 and were the result ofan eleven-year research and development process🇧🇷 Pretty crazy, right? But those 11 years of testing and research resulted in one of America's most iconic snack foods.

Pringles are so iconic that their taste, aroma, texture and packaging have changed little more thanfifty years!

My favorite quality about Pringles is the way the chip shape adapts to the natural shape of your speech.

When you place a Pringle on your tongue, it activates all the taste buds in your mouth, delivering a delicious taste that satisfies your entire palate.

However, we are not here to talk about the Pringles shape. We're here to talk ingredients; ie - which ingredients are vegan and which are not.

I'll start by breaking down the main ingredients in Pringles to show you whyOriginal tasteit is atslightly salty tastethey are 100% vegan!

1) Dehydrated potatoes

Are Pringles vegan? 5 ingredients analyzed (2)

In the 1950s and '60s, potato chips were all the rage in America. Small chips were available in stores and were a common accompaniment to sandwiches and other lunchtime dishes.

Pringles was created as a refreshing new version of potato chips. In addition to Prinlges' revolutionary design, they used the same dehydrated potato base as a regular potato chip.

Therefore, dehydrated potatoes are the main ingredient in Pringles. It turns out they're 100% vegan too!

Potatoes are grown, cut and dried to remove all of their water content. This reduces their weight, greatly increases their shelf life, and is the first step in making them into french fries.

(Video) What is MSG, and is it actually bad for you? - Sarah E. Tracy

2) flour

Are Pringles vegan? 5 ingredients analyzed (3)

Pringles adds a combination of yellow cornmeal (where the distinctive yellow color comes from) and rice flour to the dehydrated potatoes.

This flour blend creates the deliciously light, crunchy texture that Pringles are so well known for, and sets them apart from regular potato chips, which are crunchier and less crispy.

Both corn flour and rice flour are vegan ingredients that are obtained simply by grinding corn kernels and rice grains. These two flours are commonly used invegan breadand other vegan cooking apps.

3) strength

Are Pringles vegan? 5 ingredients analyzed (4)

Wheat starch is another Pringles proprietary ingredient. It helps bind the flour and dehydrated potatoes together and give them a smooth texture.

simply put,Wheat starch is just an extra processed version of wheat flourwhich has little or no nutritional value. It is mainly used to add texture and bind ingredients together.

However, wheat starch is vegan because no animal ingredients are used in production and processing.

4) vegetable oil

Are Pringles vegan? 5 ingredients analyzed (5)

As the name suggests, vegetable oil is 100% vegetable. Specifically, Pringles uses a combination of the following types of vegetable oil:

  • cotton oil.
  • Soy oil.
  • Maisel.
  • sunflower oil.

The vegetable oil in Pringles comes from the fact that they are lightly fried in vegetable oil. If you're interested in learning more about the Pringles production process, check out this amazing video courtesy of the Food Network:

5) salt

Salt is the last basic ingredient used to make Pringles. It's a simple vegan ingredient that used to flavor supposedly bland potato chips.

(Video) Food Theory: Can You SURVIVE On One Food?

when you get itOriginal tasteof Pringles, you will find that they taste moderately salty. If you choose toslightly salty tasteof Pringles, you will find that they only have a slightly salty taste.

Does Pringles contain palm oil?

Palm oil is a common substitute or additive for vegetable oil. Although palm oil is 100% vegetable, most vegans consider the consumption of palm oil to be against vegan ethics.

That's because most non-organic palm oil comes from the rainforests of South America, where thousands of acres of forest are burned each year to meet the demand for more palm oil.

Fortunately, Pringles are not made with palm oil..

Deforestation of South America's rainforests is incredibly damaging to our planet, as trees help filter our surrounding air and fight the release of harmful greenhouse gases.

In addition, deforestation is responsible for the death and/or displacement of hundreds of thousands of animals (many of which are endangered) and also of indigenous tribes in the Amazon.

Are Flavored Pringles Vegan?

Earlier I mentioned that theOriginal tasteeslightly salty tastefrom Pringles are vegan. They are made with an easy vegan recipe including:

  • potatoes
  • corn and wheat flour
  • wheat starch
  • vegetable oil
  • Sal

Unfortunately, almost all other flavored Pringles varieties are not vegan.Popular Pringles flavors likeChurrasco Memphis,Pizza,and even theFire-roasted jalapeno flavorall contain one or more non-vegan ingredients.

Here's a quick chart of some of the most popular vegan and non-vegan Pringles flavors:

Pringles Vegan FlavorsNon-vegan Pringles flavors
OriginalOnion sour cream
Original low fatfire roasted jalapenos
lightly salted originalSweet and spicy barbecue
Curled Applewood Smoked Cheddar
Screaming dill pickles
extra hot
Cheddar cheese

The culprits: Non-vegan ingredients in flavored Pringles

So if the original Pringles are vegan, what makes other Pringles flavors not so vegan? Let's take a look...

(Video) Potato Chips vs French Fries: Which is Worse?

1) Milk

Are Pringles vegan? 5 ingredients analyzed (6)

When most people think of whey, they typically think of the whey protein used by bodybuilders and athletes. However, as far as food manufacturing goes, whey is added to improve texture, increase overall yield, and add flavor.

Unfortunately, whey is a dairy product. It is a by-product of cheese making, obtained directly from cow's milk. After watching a documentary aboutThe dark side of the dairy industryI vowed never to consume dairy again. It's actually part of what started my vegan journey!

2) cheese

Are Pringles vegan? 5 ingredients analyzed (7)

Cheese is a popular addition to Pringles flavorsPizzato offer a burst of cheesy flavor. Of course, cheese is a dairy product. Even in powder form, it's not yet vegan.

3) buttermilk

Are Pringles vegan? 5 ingredients analyzed (8)

Simply put, buttermilk is fermented milk. The only reason it's even safe to consume is primarily due to the chemical additives that neutralize all bad bacteria.

It is often added to foods to create an acidic flavor profile. In the case of Pringles, it's part of what imparts flavor to cheeseCheddar cheeseePizzaits strong cheese aroma.

4) Crème

Are Pringles vegan? 5 ingredients analyzed (9)

Like buttermilk, cream is a dairy product that's added to Pringles to improve flavor and texture.

5) Mel

Are Pringles vegan? 5 ingredients analyzed (10)

Honey is included in some of the sweeter varieties of Pringles, such asSweet and spicy barbecueeChurrasco Memphis🇧🇷 DuringNot all barbecue sauce recipes contain honey, there are many who do. Pringles clearly uses a barbecue recipe that includes honey.

For those who do not know, honey is considered a product of animal origin. Bees spend their lives collecting pollen and using it to make honey for their colony.

Honey is used to feed their young and help them through the winter months. By taking away a primary food source from the colony, we make the bees dependent on us for artificial sugar-derived food.

6) Flavors derived from meat

Certain Pringles flavors contain "natural flavors" that undoubtedly include flavors derived from meat. For example thePizzaFlavor contains a natural flavor that mimics the taste of hot peppers.

(Video) Food Lies You Will Not Believe


So, long story short, if you're craving Pringles, feel free to enjoy itOriginalorslightly saltyPringles Flavors. They are 100% vegan and contain no palm oil or animal ingredients.

Just be sure to avoid any other flavors that contain milk, honey, or meat flavors.

You can find more great vegan snack tips herethe best blog for vegan snacks on the web!


Are Pringles suitable for vegans? ›

All of these flavours are 100% vegan due to their ingredients listed below: Dehydrated Potatoes -- Potatoes with the majority of water removed. Vegetable Oils -- Corn, sunflower.

Why are Pringles not vegan anymore? ›

Pringles receives heavy backlash after iconic crisps no longer suitable for vegans. Several vegans have pledged to boycott the brand after it added milk to some of its flavours. This move now makes some of the crisps such as Original, Paprika, Smokey Bacon, Sweet Chilli, and Texas BBQ Sauce unsuitable for vegans.

Are Smokey Bacon Pringles vegan? ›

Pringles no longer vegan

Among the other flavors that were once vegan are Original, Paprika, Smokey Bacon, and Sweet Chilli. But now, vegans won't be able to enjoy the snacks due to added dairy products.

Is Onion Pringles vegan? ›

Only the Original, Wavy Classic Salted, Lightly Salted Original, and Reduced Fat Original Pringles flavors are vegan. Therefore, the rule of thumb should be if the Pringles has “original” or “salted” in the title, it is likely vegan friendly. Read about other vegan snack options here.

Are Pringles actually potato? ›

Because Pringles aren't actually made with real potato—the recipe calls for dehydrated processed potato—the FDA ruled in 1975 that Pringles could only be called "chips" if they provided a disclaimer, identifying them as "potato chips made from dried potatoes." Pringles scrapped that idea and renamed them potato "crisps ...

What is the main ingredient in Pringles? ›

Ingredients. Pringles have about 42% potato content, the remainder being wheat starch and flours (potato, corn, and rice) combined with vegetable oils, an emulsifier, salt, and seasoning.

Why do Pringles taste different now? ›

We haven't changed the amount of seasoning but did recently remove the artificial flavor– as well as remove the artificial dye from the base crisp.

Are Skittles vegan? ›

With that in mind, the simple answer is: yes. Skittles Classic Fruits are suitable for vegans. Though the bag only brands them as 'Suitable For Vegetarians', classic Skittles do have a vegan friendly status as they contain no animal products.

Are Goldfish vegan? ›

Unfortunately, there are no vegan Goldfish Crackers as they all contain milk ingredients.

Are KFC chips vegan? ›

But are the chips in KFC vegan? Unfortunately, KFC chips aren't vegan. They're cooked in the same oil as some of the chicken fryers, preventing them from being vegan; this is why the KFC vegan meal is only a burger and a drink.

Are KFC potatoes vegan? ›

NOT Vegan at KFC:

KFC Biscuits. Mashed potatoes. Macaroni and cheese. Coleslaw, potato salad, and macaroni salad (contains eggs)

Are Oreos vegan? ›

Oreos ARE technically vegan but they're not whole food plant-based (or healthy!). Whole food plant-based is a healthier take on veganism. A WFPB lifestyle doesn't just exclude animal products; it doesn't include processed ingredients and promotes adding these healthy plant-based foods to your plate instead.

Can vegans eat sour cream Pringles? ›

Pringles Tortilla – Only Original is Vegan

And, thankfully, for vegans, the Pringles Tortilla Original flavour is vegan friendly! Unfortunately, the Spicy Chilli, Nacho Cheese and Sour Cream Tortilla Chips all contain ingredients derived from milk, so they are no good for those following a plant-based diet.

What percentage of Pringles is potato? ›

Pringles are 42% potato. That's enough to qualify them as crisps.

Why are Pringles not chipped? ›

Pringles are actually made from dehydrated processed potato, so technically, they're not really potato chips. The Food and Drug Administration decided in 1975 that Pringles could only be called “chips” if they provided a note on the can saying they're not made with real potatoes.

Are Pringles Baked or fired? ›

Are Pringles® baked or fried? All Pringles® potato crisps are fried, not baked.

What are the side effects of eating Pringles? ›

What Are the Negative Effects of Fried Chips?
  • Weight Gain. Chips are typically high in fat and calories, which can raise the risk of weight gain and obesity. ...
  • High Cholesterol. ...
  • Low Nutrition. ...
  • High Blood Pressure. ...
  • Healthy Alternatives.
3 Feb 2021

Why is there milk in Pringles? ›

“By adding milk we are able to increase capacity, save costs and reduce the amount of food waste,” a spokesperson for Pringles told one customer, as reported in Vegan Food UK.

Why do Pringles have a metal bottom? ›

Kellogg's said the steel ends are securely fastened to the can to ensure freshness of the crisps and preventing damage to the crisps, and also minimises the amount of transport packaging needed to send them to the grocer.

What is in the bottom of a Pringles can? ›

The Pringles can, a resealable container made from a paperboard tube, a metal bottom cap and a plastic top cap, satisfied all 3 requirements.

What is the mystery flavor Pringles? ›

“The mystery flavor will bring a new insanely accurate Pringles flavor to shelves and reward one lucky fan who can guess the flavor correctly.” Guesses submitted on social media included mustard, honey mustard, chicken and waffles, and peanut butter. The correct answer was ham and cheese.

What kind of gum is vegan? ›

Those who are on a plant-based diet can still find gum suitable for them. Childhood favourite Hubba Bubba is vegan, as are the two major gum brands Extra and Orbit. Wrigley's is also vegan, so there are absolutely vegan gum options whenever you pick up a pack from major supermarkets or newsagents.

Is Coke a vegan? ›

The vast majority of our drinks, including Coca‑Cola, are suitable for vegetarians and vegans as they do not contain any animal derivatives.

Is M&Ms vegan? ›

With that being said, the primary reason that the answer is 'no' to your question 'Are M&Ms vegan? ' is because of the milk chocolate, the key ingredient for which is skim milk. Of course, skim milk as an ingredient takes M&M's out of the vegan category, but there's more to know about what's in these candies.

Is Nutella vegan? ›

The bottom line. Nutella contains skim milk powder, an animal-derived ingredient. Therefore, it's not vegan. Still, many brands offer similar spreads that are free of animal-based ingredients.

Are Cheerios vegan? ›

Unfortunately, most Cheerios aren't vegan. This is because Honey Nut Cheerios contains, as the name implies, honey, which is not vegan. However, both this cereal and the original Cheerios are also fortified with Vitamin D, derived from wool grease.

Are Ritz vegan? ›

Yes – it turns out that Ritz Crackers are one of those surprising vegan foods! You'd be wise to be sceptical as there's literally an image of cheese on the box, but maybe the designers at Ritz intended it to be interpreted at a nice cashew-cheddar.

Are McDonald's fries vegan? ›

Unfortunately NOT Vegan at McDonald's (in the US):

French Fries (contain “Natural Beef Flavor [Wheat and Milk Derivatives]” and are fried in beef fat) Hash Browns (contain milk and fried in beef fat) Donut Sticks (contain milk in sticks and sauce)

Are Burger King fries vegan? ›

Yes! Burger King uses vegetable oil for frying their french fries, so the Burger King fries are vegan! However, they do share a fryer with other non-vegan foods, so if you're worried about cross-contamination, then skip the fries.

Are McDonald's fries vegetarian? ›

' The short answer is: no, McDonald's Fries are not vegetarian or vegan! Read on to learn more about this popular snack food, key ingredients, and vegetarian alternatives to McDonald's fries!

What at Burger King is vegan? ›

Vegan options at most Burger King locations include the Impossible Whopper, hash browns, classic fries, French toast sticks, garden side salad, and Mott's applesauce. Other vegan items may be available depending on the location.

Are Mcdonalds options vegan? ›

Introducing the McPlant, a juicy burger made with a plant-based patty, co-developed with Beyond Meat. It's sizzled on a flat iron grill, then topped with slivered onions, tangy pickles, crisp shredded lettuce, Roma tomato slices, ketchup, mustard, mayo and a slice of melty American cheese on a toasted sesame seed bun.

Are Wendy's fries vegan? ›

Are Wendy's Fries Vegan? Yes, vegans can enjoy Wendy's fries, but only if you are comfortable with cross-contamination. Both Wendy's Natural Cut fries and seasoned potatoes are made without any animal products, but they are fried in the same oil as the animal-based menu items.

What food is surprisingly vegan? ›

Top 10 surprising vegan foods
  • Crumpets. This might be an obvious one to some, but a quick poll with our vegan and dairy-free friends shows many mistakenly believe crumpets contained dairy. ...
  • Dark chocolate. Chocoholics assemble! ...
  • Cream crackers. ...
  • (Some) biscuits. ...
  • (Some) crisps. ...
  • Ice Cream. ...
  • Pasta. ...
  • Peanut butter.

Why are Doritos not vegan? ›

Nacho Cheese Doritos are NOT vegan because they contain multiple milk based ingredients. Their animal-based ingredients include: Cheddar Cheese, Whey, Buttermilk, Romano Cheese, Whey Protein Concentrate, Lactose, and Skim Milk.

What chips can vegans not eat? ›

Beware: 6 Surprising Chip Flavors That Aren't Vegan
  • Funyuns (Not vegan) ...
  • Wise Onion Rings (Vegan) ...
  • Kettle Brand Sea Salt & Vinegar Potato Chips (Vegan) ...
  • 7-Eleven Spicy Guacamole Tortilla Chips (Not Vegan) ...
  • Food Should Taste Good Guacamole Tortilla Chips (Vegan) ...
  • Tostitos Hint of Lime (Not Vegan)
16 Mar 2018

Can vegans eat Doritos? ›

All Doritos are made from ground corn and mixed with salt and sunflower oil or vegetable oils, so the base tortilla chips Doritos are, fortunately, 100 percent vegan.

Why can't vegans eat McDonald's fries? ›

Unfortunately no, if you are in any of the McDonald's locations except the UK and India, your fries are not vegan. Especially in the US, they contain 'natural beef flavor' and milk (included in the natural flavor). As vegans do not consume meat or animal by-products, U.S. fries are not vegan-friendly.

Why are bananas not vegan? ›

This has left many consumers wondering, “Are bananas vegan?” Although bananas are all-natural fruits, they may not be as vegan-friendly as many belief. This is because an increasing number of farms have been coating their otherwise vegan bananas with a chemical spray that's derived from crab shells.

Can vegans eat Kellogg's Rice Krispies? ›

Why aren't Rice Krispies vegan? They are not vegan because they include Vitamin D3, which is clearly identified on their ingredient label. Vitamin D3 is derived from lanolin, which is the oil on sheep's wool. You may also see the ingredient Vitamin D2 listed which comes from plants.

Are hash browns OK for vegans? ›

Traditionally, yes — hash browns are vegan. This is because the standard ingredients usually consist of potatoes and onions.

Is ketchup vegan? ›

To put it simply, yes, Heinz ketchup is vegan-friendly. Not only are all their ingredients plant-based, when it comes to Heinz tomato ketchup they've said 'we can confirm that the product is suitable for a vegan diet. Our sugar is not refined using bone char from animal bones. ' Making it entirely suitable for vegans.

Can vegans have Cheetos? ›

Unfortunately, no, Hot Cheetos are not suitable for a vegan diet. Cheetos are perhaps most well known for their intense cheesy flavor, which is present in all of their different varieties including the Flamin' Hot line. Unfortunately, cheese is not vegan, since it is a dairy product that comes from cows.


1. nick digiovanni on a budget #shorts
(ECS Productions)
2. #107 Sally K Norton comes to talk about a LOT! Oxalates, Egg bread problems, nuts, and more!!
(Amy:Carnivore's Angel)
3. Cook-off with ingredients we’ve never heard of
(Sorted Food)
4. $172 vs $14 Veggie Burger: Pro Chef & Home Cook Swap Ingredients | Epicurious
5. $242 vs $13 Fried Rice: Pro Chef & Home Cook Swap Ingredients | Epicurious
6. What's wrong with what we eat | Mark Bittman


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Jeremiah Abshire

Last Updated: 05/12/2023

Views: 6151

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (54 voted)

Reviews: 93% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Jeremiah Abshire

Birthday: 1993-09-14

Address: Apt. 425 92748 Jannie Centers, Port Nikitaville, VT 82110

Phone: +8096210939894

Job: Lead Healthcare Manager

Hobby: Watching movies, Watching movies, Knapping, LARPing, Coffee roasting, Lacemaking, Gaming

Introduction: My name is Jeremiah Abshire, I am a outstanding, kind, clever, hilarious, curious, hilarious, outstanding person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.